The National Rugby Championship (NRC) is Australia’s national professional rugby union football competition. The NRC is administered by the Australian Rugby Union (ARU), and as of the upcoming 2017 season is contested by eight teams from around Australia plus one from Fiji. The NRC is the highest tier of competition below the transnational Super Rugby tournament. The NRC has been instrumental in creating a clear pathway for up and coming players to transition from their local Club competition to Super Rugby franchises. 

Previously a three-way joint venture with the Vikings Group, Brumbies and the University of Canberra - the Canberra NRC team will be managed by the Vikings Group for the up-coming 2017 season and beyond. The Vikings Group and the Brumbies will maintain a strong working partnership to ensure success. The Vikings Group have been a strong advocate and supporter of ACT Rugby for many decades. This is the third time the Club has supported a team in a national competition.

THE Canberra Vikings is about showcasing the quality of our local Club players from all teams and provide grassroots rugby the chance to play on a national stage. 

The competition and the Canberra Vikings is great for local rugby and is great for the code. As in the past the NRC team will give players from all clubs in the John I Dent Cup the opportunity to play in the competition

All the Vikings home games will be played at Viking Park in Erindale, with the goal to brand game days as a fun, family friendly day out.




The Canberra Vikings team is comprised of local rugby players from the ACT and Southern NSW. It is a team for all Rugby Clubs in Canberra and the surrounding region.

Canberra Vikings is all about showcasing the quality of our local Club players from all teams. Providing them with grassroots into playing professional rugby on a national stage.




The National Rugby Championship spans eleven weeks from late August, after the completion of the premier club rugby competitions in each state, to early November.

A round-robin tournament is played over nine rounds where each team plays each other once. Each team has four home matches and four away matches with one bye.

This is followed by the finals rounds consisting of two semi-final matches, contested by the top four teams, and a grand final match to determine the season’s champion team.




Name *